Four faculty members receive University Term Professorship awards

Published: June 4, 2018

Four University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville faculty members have received University Term Professorship awards from the UF Provost’s Office. These physicians have displayed a distinguished career that places them among the leaders in their discipline.

UF COMJ was allocated four awards for the 2018-19 academic year for eligible tenure-track assistant, associate and full professors in their fifth year of service, or longer. Each University Term Professorship award lasts three years.

UF President Kent Fuchs announced the University Term Professorship award in 2016 to further recognize and reward faculty achievements. Each year, the university makes 250 Term Professorships available to the colleges. 

The Provost’s Office apportions the professorships based on the number of eligible faculty in the college. The dean makes the final determination of award of professorships, with input from department chairs and the Faculty Council Executive Committee. The awards are based on assessment of academic accomplishment.

Holders of the award may add “University Term Professor” to their academic titles for the duration of the award.

The 2018-19 awardees from UF COMJ are:

Current University Term Professors at UF COMJ include Phyllis L. Hendry, MD; Andrew M. Kaunitz, MD; Shahla Masood, MD; Renu Sharma, MD; Alan Berger, MD; Linda Edwards, MD; Mark Hudak, MD; and Arshag Mooradian, MD.

Guy I. Benrubi, M.D., FACOG
Mobeen H. Rathore, M.B.B.S. (M.D.), CPE, FACPE, FIDSA, FAAP
David J. Vukich, M.D., FACEP

For more information, please contact:
UF Health Media Relations