Eleven faculty members receive promotions for 2017-18 academic year

Published: June 26, 2018

Eleven faculty members at the University of Florida College of Medicine – Jacksonville have received promotions that take effect July 1.

The promotion process is a rigorous review of the faculty members' clinical accomplishments; scholarship of teaching and learning; research; and service to the university, society and the profession. These advancements recognize their valuable contributions to the University of Florida, UF COMJ, the state of Florida and the nation.

Promotion to professor (tenured)

Promotion to clinical professor 

  • Rui P. Fernandes, MD, DMD
    Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
    Specialty: head and neck microvascular surgery; head and neck surgical oncology; oral and maxillofacial surgery
  • Jerry P. Matteo, MD
    Department of Radiology
    Specialty: diagnostic radiology; vascular and interventional radiology
  • Joseph R. Shiber, MD
    Department of Emergency Medicine
    Specialty: critical care medicine; emergency medicine; surgical critical care

Promotion to clinical associate professor  

Carlos A. Arango, M.D.
Rui P. Fernandes, M.D., D.M.D., FACS, FRCS
Reetu Grewal, M.D.
Faheem W. Guirgis, M.D., FACEP
Jerry P. Matteo, M.D.
Vandana K. Seeram, M.B.B.S. (M.D.)
Joseph R. Shiber, M.D.
David J. Skarupa, M.D., FACS, FCCM
Barry Steinberg, M.D., Ph.D., D.D.S., FACS

For more information, please contact:
UF Health Media Relations