Awards and Recognition

ANCC Magnet Recognition

ANCC Magnet® Recognition

In 2016, UF Health Jacksonville was renewed as a Magnet® organization by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), having originally received the designation in 2011. The Magnet program is nationally recognized as the gold standard of nursing excellence. At the time of the award, approximately six percent of the nation's health care organizations had received the credential.

The Magnet Recognition Program® was developed by the ANCC to recognize healthcare organizations that provide nursing excellence and to disseminate successful nursing practices and strategies. Nursing staff at Shands Jacksonville underwent a rigorous and lengthy application and review process that demanded widespread participation from leadership and staff.

ANCC Magnet Recognition

Joint Commission Top Performer on Key Quality Measures

In 2015, UF Health Jacksonville was recognized as a 2014 Top Performer on Key Quality Measures® by The Joint Commission, the leading accreditor of health care organizations in the United States, for attaining and sustaining excellence in accountability measure performance in five different categories: heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia, surgical care and perinatal care. Less than a third of eligible hospitals in the United States were able to achieve the 2014 Top Performer distinction.

2011 Governor’s Sterling Award for Sustained Performance Excellence

Governor's Sterling Award

In 2008, Shands Jacksonville—as part of Shands HealthCare—was a recipient of the Governor's Sterling Award, the state's most prestigious award for performance excellence given to organizations and businesses in Florida that are role models for improving the way they do business.

In recognition of our ongoing improvement, Shands Jacksonville received the Governor’s Sterling Award for Sustained Performance Excellence in 2011.

Issued by the Florida Sterling Council, the Governor's Sterling Award is based on the National Malcolm Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.

NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home

NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home

In 2014, the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) designated University of Florida Jacksonville Physicians and UF Health Jacksonville as Patient-Centered Medical Home providers. UFJP and UF Health Jacksonville are the first health organizations in Northeast Florida as well as the largest academic medical group in Florida to receive this designation.

NCQA describes the Patient-Centered Medical Home as a model for care were providers and patients, family members and caregivers partner together to achieve better outcomes.

Additional Awards & Accreditations

Cancer Center

  • Commission on Cancer Accreditation
    In 2009, Shands Jacksonville received a 3-year accreditation from the Commission on Cancer as part of the American College of Surgeons Teaching Hospital Cancer Program. This accreditation makes Shands Jacksonville the first Commission on Cancer-approved teaching hospital in Northeast Florida.

  • Jean Byers Award for Excellence in Cancer Registration
    In 2008, 2009 and 2010, Shands Jacksonville received the Jean Byers Award for Excellence in Cancer Registration from the Florida Cancer Data System. The award acknowledges the quality, timeliness and completeness in the reporting of cancer data to the statewide cancer registry.

Emergency Medicine and Cardiovascular Center

Chest Pain Center
  • Chest Pain Center with Primary PCI and Resuscitation
    In 2016, UF Health Jacksonville was accredited as a Chest Pain Center with Primary PCI and Resuscitation by the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care. This is the highest available designation for chest pain centers and, at the time of the announcement, UF Health Jacksonville was one of only 24 hospitals in the country and the first in Florida to hold this prestigious designation. To receive the primary PCI and resuscitation designation, hospitals are required to have staff on duty or just minutes from the facility to treat patients with the most serious heart attacks; be equipped with a robust hypothermia program for follow-up treatment; maintain a “no-diversion policy” for out-of-hospital cardiac arrest patients; and have a separate Multidisciplinary Resuscitation Committee with representatives from EMS, emergency medicine, nursing, surgery and administration.

Medical Intensive Care Unit

AACN Beacon Award for Excellence
  • Silver Beacon Award (2017-2020)
    In 2017, the Medical Intensive Care Unit at UF Health Jacksonville was recognized as a Silver Beacon Unit by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses. The Beacon Award for Excellence honors individual hospital units that set the standard in evidence-based practices to improve patient and family outcomes, as well as staff and patient satisfaction.

Neuroscience Institute

  • Center for Comprehensive MS Care
    In 2015, the Comprehensive Multiple Sclerosis Program at the UF Health Neurosicence Institute was recognized by the National MS Society for offering a multi-disciplinary model of care to address the often complex needs of many people with MS. They offer access to a full array of medical, psycho-social and rehabilitation services delivered in a coordinated fashion where providers share common goals for patient outcomes.

  • Comprehensive Stroke Center
    In 2007, the Shands Jacksonville Comprehensive Stroke Program became the first stroke program in North Florida to receive accreditation as a Comprehensive Stroke Center from the Agency for Health Care Administration.

  • Primary Stroke Center & Gold Seal of Approval for Stroke Care
    In 2004, the Shands Jacksonville Comprehensive Stroke Program received the Gold Seal of Approval for stroke care from the Joint Commission, as well as certification as a Primary Stroke Center.

Orthopaedic Surgery & Rehabilitation

Blue Distinction Center for Knee and Hip Replacement
  • Blue Distinction® Center for Knee and Hip Replacement
    In 2013, Florida Blue named UF Health Jacksonville as a Blue Distinction Center in the areas of knee and hip replacement. The Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care® program is a national designation awarded by Blue Cross and Blue Shield companies to medical facilities that have demonstrated expertise in delivering quality specialty care.


CAP Accredited Laboratory
  • CAP Accredited Laboratory
    In 2012, the Shands Jacksonville Pathology Department received accreditation from the College of American Pathologists.

TraumaOne Trauma Center

American College of Surgeons Verified Trauma Center
  • ACS Verified Trauma Center (2018-2021)
    In 2018, the UF Health TraumaOne Trauma Center received verification from the American College of Surgeons, a distinction given only to trauma centers that meet the most stringent criteria. Trauma center verification is an evaluation process by the ACS to evaluate and improve trauma care. The ACS verifies the presence of the resources listed in its guidelines, which includes commitment, readiness, resources, policies, patient care and performance improvement. At the time of the award, UF Health was one of only five Level I trauma centers in Florida to be ACS-verified.